Diary of New Year Resolution: Weeks 5-8

I can’t believe it’s been 4 weeks since I last posted about this. But, if I try hard enough, yes, I can believe….

I can see how my resolve weakened because my schedule was overwhelming. My work and my family life took the front seat and drove me directly into a wall.

  • Daily exercise was non-existent.
  • Healthy eating habits gave way to comfort food and binge eating.
  • Excuses ran rampant and progress was erratic.

There were 3 gym days, approximately one a week.

Each of those gym days also happened to coincide with a healthy eating day. Simpler that way.

DSCF1896

Chicken Caesar Salad

One day I had Chicken Caesar Salad for dinner.

DSCF1901

Teriyaki Ginger Seared Chicken with Sauteed Zucchini on Quinoa Wild Rice

The other day, I had Teriyaki Ginger Seared Chicken Breast with Sauteed Zucchini on Quinoa Wild Rice for dinner.

My daughter and I did a liquid diet for two days during this time. Nothing but protein drinks, Odwalla Original Superfood, and lots of water. This helped to give me the brief illusion that I was making progress in the trek back to my new year resolution.

I spent a week at a client site in Salt Lake City, Utah. If you have done business travel of  any kind, you understand how most of my time was spent while on site there. In addition to spending much of 2 days traveling to and from Austin, much of my time was spent in an office, eating too much food at every meal, and laying supine on the bed in the hotel room with the TV remote in my hand. This went on for 4 days.

During that week though, if you allow your imagination to stretch and meet mine, I did get some unique exercise. Follow along with me!

At the end of that week in Salt Lake City, I spent several hours touring Temple Square in downtown. Lots of walking. That’s exercise….

DSCF1859

Assembly Hall

DSCF1860

City Creek Mall

DSCF1866

The Temple

The following day, I spent most of the day skiing at Solitude Resort on the only pristine day I had experienced all week. That’s definitely exercise….

IMG_0395 IMG_0396 IMG_0399

Oh, and I did get a 3 mile run in last night…

In hindsight, maybe the last 4 weeks have not been a total loss, only a glitch in the pattern.

Going to see if I can improve on that pattern in the following weeks.

© 2010-2013 Kimberly Yoss. All rights reserved. No part of this online publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, without the prior approval from Kimberly Yoss.

Leave a Reply

