Introduction: Diary of New Year Resolution

calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions[1]Admit it. You have made resolutions for 2013. Maybe only one; maybe a dozen. Even if you didn’t want to, if you think there is nothing you have to change.

Either way, a resolution is like a promise to ourselves, maybe to others like our family or friends, to change.  They seem easy now, in the first week. You’re focused, driven. But, they will get more difficult as the year goes on. Life will overwhelm you and the challenges – the resolutions –  will take a back seat to survival.

It’s happened to all of us.

Yet, we continue to engage in the yearly challenge. It is a chance to better ourselves and to do things better because we have a fresh start.

I fight the inevitability of it every year, almost to the point of cynicism.new-years-resolutions[2]

I’m not going to fight it this year. I’m going to embrace it.

My resolutions for 2013 are not much different from those of years past: watch my diet, no drinking, no smoking, exercise more, be nicer and more understanding of people, blah, blah, blah.

I begin strong but ultimately fade and lose sight of what I set out to do.

I hope that maybe this year will be different because so much of the strife of past years has been alleviated.

This year I will keep a diary. These posts will be called Diary of New Year Resolution; I will try to post them weekly. The format will be daily entries, just like you would make in a journal or diary, of my workouts, diet, suggestions, random thoughts, and pet peeves.

New Years Resolution[1]My hope for this: to at least keep myself on track; at best, I hope it will be an inspiration to anyone struggling in the same way. We set goals, we struggle, we fall down, we get back up with the help of our friends. Maybe by the end of the year some essence of today’s resolutions will remain strong.

Look for the first post of Diary of New Year Resolution to be posted on Sunday.

© 2010-2013 Kimberly Yoss. All rights reserved. No part of this online publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, without the prior approval from Kimberly Yoss.

Leave a Reply

