R-T-H: Month in Review 10.31

If you are a dreamer, there is nothing like a goal to keep you moving forward every day. It focuses your efforts and keeps you tethered to reality.

Helping you move closer to the vision you have created for yourself. Guiding you to the commitment you made, whether you made it to yourself or to someone else.

The achievement of that goal can be what forces you to move when you don’t want to, or it can convince you to push yourself when you really just want to take it easy and finish quickly. To achieve that goal, you not only need to be able to measure your progress, but you need a deadline.

And my deadline is looming.

Last week, I realized that the 3M Half Marathon that I signed up for in July is only 75 days away, on January 13, 2013.

75 days more days to train.

75 days to get up and out every day to assure that I achieve my goal.

My goal is not to run the race. I have run quite a few halfs in my past. Not a big deal.

My handicap is that I have not run one recently. The last one was the Sarasota Half in February 2011. With proper training, this one should be like getting back on a bicycle. But, again, I don’t just want to get back on the bicycle. I have a more difficult goal.

I want to get back on that bicycle and go faster.

My goal is my time: I want to run this in under 2 hours or fewer.

A half-marathon is 13.1 miles. I ran the Sarasota half 2 hours 4 minutes. To date, that was my personal best on a half. My very first half-marathon – the Rock ‘n Roll Half in San Antonio – I completed in 2 hours 27 minutes.

By January 2013, it will have been nearly 2 years since my body ran 13.1 miles in one stretch.

To achieve this goal will require daily training, both mental and physical.

So, I have added a countdown to my site. I will post my progress in my training every day, even if it is just a one-liner.

Here’s to day 75 and the next 2 months!

For an idea of what it takes to train and prepare for a half-marathon, check out this site!

© 2010-2012 Kimberly Yoss. All rights reserved. No part of this online publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, without the prior approval from Kimberly Yoss.

2 thoughts on “R-T-H: Month in Review 10.31

  1. Raunak says:

    that quote just made my day!

Leave a Reply

