Spotify As A Creative Outlet

What is your relationship with the music you enjoy listening to? Is it comfortable and dependable, the same artists, the same tunes, all the time? Or is it electric, dynamic, and changing with the scenery and your mood? Is it vinyl or electronic? Mobile or stationary? Does your music affect you or do you affect your music?

I never used to think about any of these. I used to listen to all the same artists, all the same CDs, all the same radio stations playing the same playlists in the same order…over and over again. And it all evoked the same emotions in me…over and over again.

I never realized how boring it was until I became Spotified.

By now, most people have at least heard of Spotify. If you have not, here are some main points:

  • Spotify is a cloud-based music library that was launched last year in the U.S.
  • Since then, there have been a few glitches and complaints about it but mostly it is growing in popularity.
  • By joining Spotify, you can stream to your computer millions of songs from every genre…for free.
  • You can access dozens of Spotify themed radio stations to your phone.
  • You can create and maintain your own playlists and interact with the playlists of your Facebook friends.
  • You can add friends in Spotify, even if they are not on Facebook.

In other words, in regards to music, creativity, and interactive capabilities, Spotify has all of it.

But, like any new idea, I balked at it for awhile. I was blindly happy in my musical cocoon because I didn’t know any better. Even though I was told a new way of listening to music was out there, I was unwilling to try the new way. Give me my CD case and I was happy. Give me my rock radio station and my alternative radio station and I was happy…even if they played the same music every day.

It was something I could depend on.

I was first introduced to Spotify during a weekend road trip. Entertainment during the 12 hours of driving was provided by Spotify playlists. I was instantly enthralled by the huge variety of music. Much of it I had heard before, but not in years. The other part of it I had never heard but it piqued my curiosity.

But I continued in my musical darkness, even when the pinprick of light representing musical freedom and creativity was out there…somewhere.

When I did venture out of my musical cocoon long enough to investigate what Spotify had to offer me, I was pleasantly overwhelmed. At the click of a mouse, I was able to get to all of the music that I loved, and still love, from my youth. Bands like Boston, Billy Joel, Guns ‘N Roses, Aerosmith, Ratt, Def Leppard, and more. That list is exhaustive, but easy and dependable.

From this base, I began to create playlists. I began with one labeled Adrenaline, which included Lynyrd Skynyrd, Ratt, Metallica, Nickelback, Foo Fighters, U2.

I got bored, in a way, and began to venture into other music. Not only music from genres and bands that I have never heard of before, but songs from bands that I have heard of but that never got airtime on mainstream radio.

I am now a fan of bands and artists like Richard Ashcroft, Jason Aldean, Imagine Dragons, David Gray, Matthew West, Easton Corbin.  With the help of artists like this, I created a few more playlists, like Chill and Introspection and Perspective.

As you can see, the pinprick of light was growing. My cocoon was cracking. I was being freed.

I have established a love affair with artists that I have heard of but never truly had the opportunity to experience freely, like Trans-Siberian Orchestra, Dream Theater, Apocalyptica.  Some of the music from these artists ended up in my Dream On playlist.

When I attended Austin City Limits (ACL) recently, I used Spotify to research the line-up. By this method I learned about artists like The Avett Brothers, NEEDTOBREATHE, Noah Gunderson, Royal Teeth, and Moon Duo.

I have used all of this new music to update my five active playlists: an eclectic mix of the old, and the new. None of which would have been probably as cheaply, easily, and quickly as it is with Spotify.

Now, I am completely free; no longer bound by physical media or held at the mercy of the radio stations that only play what they are told to play.

I choose; I create; I listen; I enjoy. I am free.

I highly recommend Spotify to anyone who is bored with their current music and is interested in expanding their old musical tastes in new ways. Who wishes to experiment with music and engage their creativity.

I guarantee that for the open-minded and curious, Spotify will not disappoint.

 

© 2010-2012 Kimberly Yoss. All rights reserved. No part of this online publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, without the prior approval from Kimberly Yoss.

Leave a Reply

