Note to Starbucks

I don’t know about you, but I can be fairly cranky in the morning…particularly so when the clock shows pre-7am.  

Feeling cranky?

This is why I drink coffee in the morning. It is my sacred cow, not to be touched or toyed with. It is the one vice that I hold dear to me and will never let go. Everything else can turn around and walk away and I would never miss them.  

Don’t mess with my coffee.

However, in all honesty, for the past few months I have not been buying my coffee by the cup at your establishment. I broke down and bought a coffee maker. Now, I buy Folgers ½ Caff and make it myself.

There are a few benefits to this method: 

  • I don’t have to get dressed to go outside. This is a huge benefit as the weather gets colder.
  • I don’t have to waste gasoline or lose my parking spot.
  • I don’t have to spend quite so much money to get my fix.

The exceptions to this are when I run out of my ½ Caff and don’t feel like trudging to the HEB or when I just feel like hitting a Starbucks for a latte.

The sacred cow…

This is exactly what I did the other morning.

After that experience, I have one more benefit of making my own coffee in my own place: I don’t have to hassle with counter staff who are just as cranky and irritable as I am.

I have never had a problem with rude or cranky counter staff at your place, even during the days when I was a daily customer. In fact, it was always exactly the opposite experience.

I could walk into any Starbucks in a bad mood, but walk out cheerful and smiling because of the exuberance and warmth of the staff who worked there. Many times I knew the staff by name; just short of Facebook friends.

Now, I know you will say that this is just one experience. I can hear the rationalizations now…

  • ”she is new and just nervous so she had a hard time smiling”, or…
  • “she was having a bad day, just like everyone does”, or maybe this gem…
  • “she was PMS-ing. Come back next week”.

Sure, there could be a bunch of other reasons. I just haven’t thought it through.

Except that my daughter came back today with an experience with the same staff person. This time, though, she sourly told my daughter to go back out to her car and get the 6 cents that she was short for payment of her tall Salted Caramel Mocha Latte.

Wait…what?

Bottom line is every single person on this planet has probably bought a product at one of your stores at one point or another in his or her life.

Every single person expects and deserves to be greeted by a smile and a cheery disposition. Particularly considering how much we pay for the privilege. Not only is that what good customer service is about, but that is a big part of the Starbucks presentation. The Starbucks promise. At least in the eyes of your customer base.

I would be more likely to be able to deal with the this type of a cold veneer at 3pm when I want to throttle someone anyhow. But, please don’t mess with my 7am coffee. As much as I need that caffeine, and Starbucks coffee (because for me everything else falls short), I need to be re-assured that the rest of my day will be brighter and cheerier. And, I can’t do that with someone who won’t smile at me and is cranky herself.

So…smiles everyone! Smiles!

© 2010-2012 Kimberly Bluth or Kimberly Yoss. All rights reserved. No part of this online publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, without the prior approval from Kimberly Yoss (Bluth).

2 thoughts on “Note to Starbucks

  1. Raunak says:

    …and Starbucks opened their first ever store in India this week!

    • kbluth says:

      I would be curious to know what the differences are in the menu offerings in India as opposed to those here in the US, mainly in the coffee. Enjoy! Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

