MAX’S Wine Dive: Definitely NOT A Dive

New city…new experiences.

New discoveries.

New discoveries lead to new favorites. This is the part that I love the most about moving and changing.

So, I found MAX’S Wine Dive on a Friday at 3pm. I had driven downtown for a conference but I arrived too late. I guess I missed the part where it ended at 2pm on Friday. OOPS.

As I walked away from the conference center, I looked around for somewhere to hang out. After all, I had paid my parking meter until 4pm.

But, let’s face it, I just didn’t feel like trucking back home yet.

My eye rested on a few possibilities down the street and around the corner.

  • Fogo de Chao
  • Another steakhouse of unknown name
  • A greasy hamburger joint that might be cool if I wasn’t dressed for success
  • The Melting Pot

Been to all of those.  

I really need something new and different.

Then, my head turned almost by itself and my eyes traveled down the block past Fugo de chao, past the Melting Pot, and landed on the sign for MAX’S Wine Dive.

Sweet.  First thought after that, I wonder if it is really a dive.

It’s not a dive.

“Dive” connotates dark, dirty, cold, unfriendly, sketchy staff and questionable clientele.

OK, so MAX’S is dark, too. But, it is dark only in a warm, comfy couch sense, as the light filters in from the floor to ceiling windows.

Comfy couches.

And, wine is in the name. If you are here, you might be into wine, I would think. Check out their wine rack. There was another just like it in the back of the restaurant. I loved how it was the backdrop for the décor.

Wine, anyone?

MAX’S serves food too. But Max is not in the kitchen. Instead, Chef Erica mans the kitchen. I was not fortunate enough to get a tasting because I arrived in between lunch and dinner. But, if I had been on time for a meal, my selection would have been Roasted Beet Salad with Shrimp. Check out the menu!

Unfortunately, I am not the first one to write about MAX’S. Both MAX’S Wine Dive and Chef Erica have made their way into the annals and accolades of the food world, including local Austin TV networks and national food magazins like Texas Monthly and Women’s Day.

If you ever find yourself in Austin (or Houston or San Antonio), do yourself a favor and come chill out at MAX’S Wine Dive. You will not be disappointed.

© 2010-2012 Kimberly Bluth or Kimberly Yoss. All rights reserved. No part of this online publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, without the prior approval from Kimberly Yoss (Bluth).

2 thoughts on “MAX’S Wine Dive: Definitely NOT A Dive

  1. Jamie says:

    Kimberly,
    Thanks so much for coming in to MAX’s! We’re pleased to hear you like our wine rack and atmosphere! We hope to see you back for brunch, lunch, or dinner – or in-between – if you need to skip out on the another conference or two or three…
    Sincerely,
    Jamie
    Social Media Director, MAX’s Wine Dive

    • kbluth says:

      That is a foregone conclusion, Jamie. And, that said, I may not wait for the next “missed” conference! I loved it there and was sad that I missed the food…
      Thanks so much for your comment! Very much looking forward to my next visit!

Leave a Reply

