Note to the City of Austin

It took me 50 minutes to drive less than 5 miles this morning (I could have been a third of the way to Houston in that time!).

It normally takes me about 20 minutes, and that is due to the poor timing of the lights at the intersection of the major East-West road I have to take to get to where I am going.

I have thought about calling you and asking if you would adjust that light; I wondered if you are even aware that the poor timing on that light causes so much duress to so many commuters…to your tax payers.

I wonder if I had called if you would have cared enough to come out and fix it?

I didn’t call.

And, this morning, I was greeted by a 50 minute commute for the same 5 mile route.

Not only were the lights still timed inefficiently, but to add insult to injury, bad weather complicated the picture even more. Rain, slick roads, and pooling water have a tendency to do that.

But, I have been driving enough years to expect this. And, if it were just the light timing and the weather, I could have coped a little better. I could have understood.

Except there was another factor this morning. One that you could have controlled if you so chose to.

In your wisdom, you had changed the traffic pattern of this major thoroughfare from two lanes to one. And, you did this right at the point of intersection. Can you say cluster&*^%?

I still would have understood.

Except that there was NO ONE WORKING. I saw cones, I saw the sign…but no one was home. How convenient that you have the freedom to block off the road and then let the workers off for the morning because it is raining.

I understand that there might have been other reasons for there being no workers there, but come on now. Really!!! Do the math, please.

Multiply my waste of time and gasoline by all the other commuters on the same road, driving the same path, stuck in the same mess. The product is immeasurable wasted time, uselessly burned gasoline, road rage, anger, and pollution.

I don’t think you quite understand the compulsion that flowed through me when I saw the whole picture. If I had been less of a person, or more of a risk taker, or maybe both, I would have plowed my big ass truck right over those cones and through that nasty Right Lane Closed Ahead sign.

You can thank me later for not doing that.

In the meantime, is it too much to ask that your staff can be a little more thoughtful in your road management and the impact of your decisions on the rest of us.

Especially considering that we, the taxpayers, pay your salaries and make it possible for you to do the stupid things you do. Or, in this case, pay you to do virtually nothing.

Please, make a note to yourself for next time, that when you close a lane at a major intersection, do us commuters and tax payers a favor and instead of wasting more of our time and money, please at least have people working the site. If you can’t manage that, then remove the road block.

Thank you, from the commuters and tax payers of North Austin.

© 2010-2012 Kimberly Bluth or Kimberly Yoss. All rights reserved. No part of this online publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, without the prior approval from Kimberly Yoss (Bluth).

Leave a Reply

